Author: admin

Office closure due to funeral of late Grand Chief Huey Nicholas

With respect to the family of former Grand Chief Hugh Tehonerahtathe Nicholas, The Mohawk Council Of Kanesatake and will be closed tomorrow to pay respect to Mr. Nicholas. Mr. Nicholas served on Council as a Chief from 1973 to 1977, and as Grand Chief from 1978 to 1986 The family will receive condolences at Les Salons Funéraire Guay (Réseau Dignité),156 Notre-Dame in Oka, Tel: 514-871-2020, on Tuesday, October 2 from 2 to 5 p.m. and 7 to 10 p.m., Wednesday at 9 a.m. Funeral service will be held at Oka United Church on Wednesday, October 3 at 11 a.m. thence to Pine Hill Cemetery. Grand Chief Otsi Simon will attend the services tomorrow.. Our sincere condolence to the Nicholas...

Read More is now available in French!

Hi Everyone! The site is now available in the french language. The language switcher is located in the top right of the page. We are working on making all links and documents found on this site available in both languages. If you notice an issue with the site in french or english such as a broken link please let André Richard know by emailing him at In the future we aspire to have this website available in all 3 languages Thank you all for your...

Read More

Draft Protocol of the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake

We are starting consultation on the Protocol of the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake. Protocol of the Mohawk Council for Consultation Please read the above document and contact the following Chiefs with your comments: Patricia Meilleur Phone: 450-479-8373 ext:109 Email: Valerie Bonspille Phone: 450-479-8373 ext:108 Email: All Chiefs are taking part in this project. The Chiefs in charge of collecting and compiling the communities comments are Chief Patricia Meilleur and Chief Valerie Bonspille. When emailing your comments please include your contact information and address. To set up private dialogue sessions please contact the Chiefs above. Collection and input of information deadline will be Saturday April 7, 2018. Ratification day will be May 26, 2018 & June 2, 2018. Details for voting process TBA...

Read More
  • 1
  • 2